Luma is a quarterly online publication about independent film and media art published by the Calgary Society of Independent Filmmakers and EMMEDIA Gallery & Production Society. Luma includes critical essays, news, reviews, event previews, interviews, reflections, and photo/video essays about culturally relevant productions, events and ideas. Luma aims to expand critical dialogue about media art and film from a Western Canadian perspective on an international platform.

Issues are released in May, August, November and February.


The Calgary Society of Independent Filmmakers is an inclusive, non-profit, arts-based society that exists to encourage filmmaking as art, reflecting and challenging our changing cultural landscape through production, exhibition and distribution of the filmmaker's work. CSIF provides access to workshops and clubs, production and post production equipment, mentorships, and programming- including the annual $100 Film Festival.

EMMEDIA Gallery & Production Society is a non-profit artist-run organization that supports both the production and presentation of media arts. EMMEDIA responds to a broad community by offering affordable access to media art production tools and facilities, services, technical and educational support, an array of production programs and residencies, and a year round schedule of public exhibition programs including the PARTICLE + WAVE Media Arts Festival. Our programs strive to foster artistic dialogue and engagement through complementary activities such as artist talks and panel discussions, workshops and publications.


℅ EMMEDIA Gallery & Production Society
2005 10 Ave SW
Calgary, AB Canada
T3C 0K4


Raeesa Farooqi (CSIF) programming@csif.org | 403.205.4747

Vicki Chau (EMMEDIA) programming@emmedia.ca | 403.263.2833

Editor in Chief

Lindsay Sorell — editor@lumaquarterly.com

Editorial Assistant

Kennedy Enns  info@lumaquarterly.com

Editorial Committee

Natasha Chaykowski

Joel Farris

Murray Leeder

Garth Paulson

Teresa Tam

Nicola Waugh

Scott Westby

Advisory Committee

Gary Burns

Lee Carruthers

Chris Frey

Jem Noble

Charles Tepperman

Diana Sherlock